Chicken Cordon Bleu Pot Pie

End of summer and “what’s for supper?” blues?

bisquickpie

Here’s some Autumnfood inspiration from Pillsbury, using Bisquick, but I had another idea.

I once had an Aunt who, when she cooked, made everything look gorgeous—unfortunately everything she made was inedible. My father is a professional baker, so everything he makes is not only delicious, but everything looks almost identical. Things I make sometimes look a bit haphazard, but they are always delectable…I figure I’ve landed somewhere in the middle of my Aunt and Father.

I’ve always loved ‘inventing’ new dishes for supper out of whatever ingredients I found in the cupboard and fridge to surprise my husband and son. Throughout the years, their only complaint of my doing this was that I could never repeat the recipe!

I’m so totally bored of cooking supper because I can’t think of anything inspiring and new to make, but I was in the grocery store the other day, waiting in line and perusing the magazines near the check stand, hoping for a little inspiration.

My eye caught the cover of Southern Cooking with what I thought was a Chicken Cordon Bleu Pot Pie…you can see why I might have thought as much, right?

double-apple-pie

Actually, it was a double crust apple pie…but that photo got me to thinking with my cooking creative brain and Viola! Please note: I’ve written down the recipe!

Disclaimer: If you have a wheat allergy, your’ll need to use something different for the crust. If you need to restrict cheese, you might want a different recipe.

To Warm Your heart and belly

Chicken Cordon Bleu Pot Pie ala MCatherine

cordoningredients

Ingredients

1 roasted chicken boned

2 pie crusts

krusteaz-pie-crust-mix-52817

 

 

 

 

 

8 slices or 2c of swiss cheese shredded

1 large as you can find ham slice-cut into 2″ triangles

1 lb. fresh asparagus

2 cans of cream of chicken soup

creamchsoup

 

 

Directions

Follow the directions for making the pie crust. Divide into two balls, saving one ball in the refrigerator until needed. First ball rolled to make the bottom crust and place in the pie dish and prick several times. Bake at 350F for 5 minutes and let cool.

While the crust is baking open the cream of chicken soup into a bowl and mix until smooth.

Alternating ingredients, **spoon a large helping of soup on to the bottom crust, then layer with chicken pieces, Swiss cheese slices, ham and several asparagus. Continue layering ingredients from ** until pie dish is full. Pour remaining soup over the layers and sprinkle with remaining cheese.

Roll out the second crust ball and slice into several pieces, then arrange the pieces criss-crossed over the top of the ingredients. Bake at 350F for about 30 minutes or until bubbling and the crust is golden brown.

Cordon Bleu Pot Pie Express

In a hurry, I skipped the bottom crust. I didn’t include asparagus because all the grocery had were imported and I’m only eating ‘grown in America’ these days. I used precut swiss cheese slices. I used 1 can of soup. I only made one layer of all ingredients. I didn’t cut the dough very evenly, but it went together lickety-split and tasted awesome!

cordonquick

Cordondone

Here’s my revisions:

Next time I’ll use thin sliced deli ham instead of the ham steak–too thick for this dish. Also, I ended up baking it for 55 minutes because the slices of dough were thick and I had a sheet of tin foil under the pie dish to catch any spills. Or, one could pump up the heat to 425.

Otherwise, I think it’s delicious.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

