Fleur de Lis Motif Redeux

crochet fleur clear

Since my first attempt at designing a handmade Fleur de Lis motif

Desperate Inspiration

Sometimes, inspiration and invention comes about through desperation. And so it was, after joining a gift exchange last month via my OUTLANDER PATTERN CENTRAL group.

If you are an OUTLANDER fan, then you are aware that the next season has Jamie and Claire living in Paris as per the second book by Diana Galbadon, DRAGONFLY IN AMBER. So it was not surprising the theme of the gift exchange is ‘Paris’!

If you are a regular reader, you know that I am gaga for Paris, as evident by the photo of my Paris theme powder room.

'Paris'

…but I digress.

So many ideas, So hard to choose!

After agreeing to participate in two, that’s right, make two gifts–one for someone in the USA and one for someone outside the USA, I found myself spoiled for choice of ideas.

Should I make ‘Paris’ themed:

*Note cards? I have fleur di lis ink stamps in several sizes. *Coffee sleeve *Purse *Scarf *Hat *Ribbon *Gift tags *Coin purse *or, or, or, or…..well, you get the picture. My creatively inspired mind was in a wonderful whirl, but I was having a difficult time focusing!

I did manage to focus enough to make a couple of accessory pins

FleurParis

JCParis

After a weeks deliberation, I finally decided to make a scarf with a never before used pattern to which I would add fleur de lis motifs, except…..the motif I had previously designed was too ‘chunky’ for the bamboo silk fiber I’d chosen for the scarf.

Searching

I searched in vain on the web. Turns out there are still slim pickings when it comes to a crocheted fleur de lis patterns, let alone delicate enough for the silk.

I found machine made fleur de lis trim on Etsy. I’m pretty good at ‘picking off’ a pattern, but I could not figure out how to crochet this.

FleurLace

I did pick off the ‘fleur’ in this pattern

crochetfleurdelis

for this gift

FleurForLynnFits-Starts-Rip-Start Again

However, I have never enjoyed making ‘pairs’ of things (correct, I do not knit sox), so I had no thought of recreating the first scarf for the second recipient. I selected a different color of silk bamboo yarn and made a slightly different accessory pin, so of course, I wanted a different motif…but what?

I tried making the fleur’s above out of lighter thread; heavier thread; silk bamboo yarn….just NOTHING tickled my fancy until today.

Fleur de Lis Trim

This is the first fleur redeux version. I was thinking I would make individual motifs, then attach them in the same way I did on the first scarf, but rethought the idea when I found I was going to need 14…count ’em…14 motifs.

fleurredeux

Plan B

I decided to try making ‘trim’ using a modified version of the fleur pictured above. The motifs are 1″ H X 3/4″ W.

I posted a photo of the progress of the Fleur Redeux for the Outlander Pattern Central members for commentary and received a number of requests for the pattern, but the initial notes just wouldn’t do!

fleurstruct

If you like the motif, just think of my providing this pattern as my love note for you.

Base foundation

fleurtrimA

Row 1: Make a chain the length of the side of the scarf planned for adding the trim.

Row 2: sc into each chain across to the end.

Mini Fleur loop

Row 3: *Sc 10. In every 11th space, 1 sc, chain 5, slip st. into the same space; followed by 1 sc and chain 7 and slip st. into the same space and repeat the chain 5 loop. *Continue pattern to the end of the strip.

Slp stitch 3 stitches on the side of the trim to begin working on the opposite side of the strip.

Right Side fleur loop

Row 4: *Sc across to the space just above the first mini fleur loop on the bottom of the strip. Sc into the next space, chain 5, *half dbl c in the second chain from the hook and pull thru 2 sts. leaving 2 sts. on the hook. *Repeat in each of the next 3 chains, then YO and pull thru all the chains on the hook and sc. Then, slp. st. into the same space in the strip where you began.

Center fleur loop

Sc into the next space on the strip. Ch 7.*half dbl c in the second chain from the hook and pull thru 2 sts. leaving 2 sts. on the hook. *Repeat in each of the next 5 chains, then YO and pull thru all the chains on the hook and sc. Sc into the bottom chain and slp. st into the same space in the strip where you began.

Left Side fleur loop

Chain 5, *half dbl c in the second chain from the hook and pull thru 2 sts. leaving 2 sts. on the hook. *Repeat in each of the the next 3 chains, then YO and pull thru all the chains on the hook and slp. st. into the next space in the strip.

Sc into each space in the strip between each motif

Repeat the three fleur loops at each location in the strip above the mini fleur loops on the bottom of the strip.

Sc to the end of the strip and finish. Weave ends Fleurdelistrim2 pdf

fleur-de-lis trim

fleurtrimfixed

fleurfini

May both recipients of my creations wear them with pleasure and in good health.

Fleur de Lis Motif Redeux Pattern on Etsy

fleur-me-yes

Oh, BTW: I thoroughly enjoyed the challenge of figuring out this individual crocheted Fleur de Lis Motif Redeux and have made the pattern available for sale in Hide A Heart Etsy Shop. It is so much more to my liking than the one I made a few years ago. Don’t you agree?

Leave a Reply

