Dinna Fash

Outchart

FYI: In case no one has mentioned it to you before…..

I recently bought a pattern… to be sure it is a wee bit complicated and as always, my ‘rhino principle’ never gave me a chance to realise one must read knitting charts from right to left!!!

I am ever so grateful I figured this out BEFORE trying to design my Outlander Inspired Scarf, especially since my plan was to include my favorite quotes and phrases and words. Well, be grateful for small favors, I say.

However, making one’s own chart and knowing how to read it for transferring the design to the work is NOT that easy.

Luckily I discovered this chart generator app, but still it’s tricky to find just the right image to transfer, but remained naive about successfully transferring the design for a wee bit longer.

My Love

Mogo

myheart

NOT to mention one has planned for 52 stitches, but as you can see the pattern exceeds the plan. So, does one decide to off-set the second word?

Or change the letters from Celtic font to something more readable?

My Heart

Mochridhe

Mochridhe

Viola!, Finally, something that will fit the number of stitches with which I am working and I can make it out. However……

Successful Transfer

When working in the round, starting at the TOP of a project, guess what? One must turn the chart upside down and work left to right as well.

UpsideDownFash

Dinna Fash!

If you have not yet realised, let me just say, I am proud of the fact that I rise to challenges with as much determination as any Rhino on earth!

Dinna

Fash

Ya ken, for a number of reasons, I’m beginning to think Dinna Fash is a great phrase!

DinnaFash

This is definitely going to be a ‘heart’lander project.

3 thoughts on “Dinna Fash

  1. Not having seen the show.. and far behind on my Gaelic – it might have been nice if you’d offered a definition, but that’s okay.. I found one courtesy of the Scotsman.com. Here’s what I located..

    ‘FASH, dinna fash yersel’ – Fash has two main meanings; one being not to get annoyed by a situation, and the other being not to inconvenience yourself with something or someone.

    For example, ‘dinna fash yersel, it was an accident,’ meaning not to get annoyed over something accidental, and ‘dinna fash yersel wi’ cooking, we’ll go oot fur a meal,’ meaning not to hassle oneself with cooking a meal. Uses of the word in Scots have been recorded as early as the sixteenth century, and appears to be derived from the medieval French verb ‘fascher.’ Although not as common as some other Scottish words and phrases, it is still used occasionally, and was in fact used in a comment piece in The Scotsman in 2003 about labelling groceries with Scottish terms: “Dinna fash, Scottish supermarkets could have signs saying tatties, neeps, sybies, kail and cebbok.”

    http://www.scotsman.com/lifestyle/arts/news/scottish-word-of-the-day-fash-1-2080326

    As you might guess, I thought it might refer to another four letter word, beginning with “F”, but the “Fish Cheer” seems a lot of words to knit into a scarf!

    Peace -Gerry

  2. Pingback: Thistle Chart Solution Inspiration | HideaHeart's Blog

Leave a Reply

