Paris to Lallybroch Outlander Inspired Scarf or Holiday Stocking Contest

ParisMittens

One woman’s pattern is another woman’s inspiration!

Someone in my OUTLANDER PATTERN CENTRAL group posted a link to this free pattern for making a

My Favorite Things Infinity Scarf

fair_isle_infinity_scarf-16_medium2

I was intrigued because the designer, Jill McGee mentioned it was a great project for scrap yarn, which every knitter has tons of and usually ends up using to make washcloths, potholders or flowers and bookmarks. So the idea of utilizing scraps to make an infinity scarf really appealed to me.

Five Favorite Things

I love color, but I wanted to make something a little more elegant, so I decided on Bernat Satin colors Ebony and Linen. I began by creating a list-

  • Fleur de lis
  • Harlequin
  • Stripes
  • Eiffel Tower
  • ‘Paris’

I searched on Ravelry to look for things with the word ‘Paris’ and Viola! Eiffel Tower, Paris and Fleur de lis and stripes in one pattern. However…….

Chart Pattern Phobia

I have a certain ‘aversion’ to reading pattern charts. I’m not exactly sure why, but my eyes cross and I audibly moan when coming across a pattern I like to find it’s offered as a ‘chart’… ugh! But this pattern for Paris Mittens designed by Andrea Arbour on Ravelry fell into the must have category, regardless of chart phobia!

ParisMittens

EiffelMits

I searched Pinterest to find a Harlequin design.

HarlequinSox

and now was all set to begin My Favorite Things scarf!

ParisScarf

Parisscarfn
 Lallybroch

Now, the OUTLANDER PATTERN CENTRAL group of which I am a member is active with soon-to-be announced KAL projects. When I put out a suggestion that we might try holding an #OUTLANDER Scarf or Christmas Stocking design contest it turned out that there are so many ideas already in the oven, that there is no room for my suggestion at the moment, which led me to the idea that I could hold such a contest right here on the blog!

So, come one and come all interested in submitting your designs. I’ll be creating mine and look forward to seeing yours. I won’t show mine until AFTER the winner is announced.

Details:

  • Contest begins April 15, 2015
  • Deadline for submissions July 2, 2015
  • Voting from July 5-August 10th
  • Scarf and Holiday Stocking designs must be OUTLANDER related
  • Provide a jpg photo of your work sent to: hideaheart@gmail.com
  • Winner announced on August 14, 2015
  • Prize: Skein of Claire’s Escape yarn (I’ve already bought it, so don’t worry that the listing shows as ‘sold’!

ClairesEscapeYarn

One more thing, when creating your design I suggest you write out the pattern or chart in case you may want to replicate it in the future. Also, if you are a member of Ravelry.com you might consider uploading the photo + include the pattern available for free or for sale.

So, To the Yarn, Stitchenachs! To the Yarn!

2.8.2016 Update

PS: No one entered the contest, so I won the yarn by default! I made a scarf using the Hitchhiker pattern. I attached 20 beads to represent the 20 years Claire and Jamie were apart. It’s just one of those subtle ideas.

Claire'sescapefini

One thought on “Paris to Lallybroch Outlander Inspired Scarf or Holiday Stocking Contest

Leave a Reply

