The Value of Cognitive Reading

I read and utilize many crochet and knit patterns, but have NEVER truley appreciated the value of cognitive reading until last week.

Star Cloth2

Thanks to SimplyNoteable.com for rediscovering and sharing the pattern directions for making THE ALMOST LOST WASHCLOTH.

Starpads Browsing things to add to my CraftUp board on Pinterest, I came across the photo above of a cute washcloth with a pattern entitled THE ALMOST LOST WASHCLOTH PATTERN.

I immediately grabbed needles and yarn and set forth to happily create something new from what looked as if it was a simple and satisfying project.

There is a disclaimer on the pattern saying that it might not be written quite right, but since I apply Rhino Principle to just about everything I do. With a happy heart, I charged forth confident I’d over-come any challenge.

WRONG! After completing the first four rows, I found myself frogging, frogging, frogging when trying to make the pattern work for the second round—it wasn’t going well at all! I checked the comments section and found other people seemed to be able to make the pattern work for them…so clearly it was just me! I began again….and again…..and again. “What is it I am doing wrong?”, I asked myself.

I also clicked on the link provided to create ‘mini’ cloths, but my brain was on over-load due to a number of household challenges and I was using this new cloth pattern in an effort to practice ‘constructive distraction’, but I was falling very short of success.

Some rows later, I did discover Mom’s post on SimplyNotable.com and where you will find excellent clarification of the pattern + additional instructions for assembly of the glow cloth. glowclothpattern1

Viola!

I inhaled deeply and decided to try one more time and Viola! My mistake was that I would begin row 1 BEFORE the knit back—Sheesh! The instruction was right there in front of me but it didn’t compute–definite cognitive disconnect, a value for which I now have increased respect. Hints:

  • Make notations of which row you are on before setting the work down–I learned that the hard way
  • The outside pointed side is the increase and decrease side–this took a little more brain-engage than expected
  • If you use the Provisional cast-on method, DON’T knit back after the decrease row because the Kitchner Stitch makes a knit row.
  • I found it easy to pick up 14 stitches from the cast-on row instead of doing all the Provisional cast-on rigamarole or just used a Bickford seam to stitch it together

Now you have three tutorial sources–so, go forth and create plentiful!

 

 

Leave a Reply

