A Rose is a Rose is a

Here’s the best Crochet Irish Rose pattern I’ve found!  I assure you it is accurately and clearly written.

IrishRosePattern

The pattern, found on Roland-Designs.com, is written for about 4 rows of petals, but I expanded it and crocheted 11 rows using Aunt Lydia’s Classic Crochet Thread #10.

I came across this tie stick pin in my husband’s jewelry box and thought it a perfect accent.

stick

I stuffed the back side of the rose with white cotton batting, tucking the edges under to make a smooth surface. I crocheted a ‘cover’ to give the piece a ‘finished’ look and attached it by sewing up and down through the rows of petals. I added a broach pin and my label.

IrishEcru

Now, I’m ready to pin this beauty to my hat and wear with happiness well beyond St. Pat’s!

myhat

Love note: If you crochet hats, here’s a great post to figure out how to measure for sizing.

Leave a Reply

