Adding Etsy Mini to WordPress.com

EtsyShop

Unfortunately, grabbing the html code to install an Etsy Mini on a WordPress.com blog won’t work. However. take heart–all is not lost! 

I subscribe to the EverythingEtsy newsletter. Last week’s issue tickler was a great video Tim made about installing one’s Etsy Mini into a blog.

I followed Tim’s directions to a tee, but when I copy/pasted the html code for the mini into a WordPress.com text widget, which claims to take html,  the html code showed and NOT the mini. Yikes! What happened?

Well, it turns out that the Etsy Mini html code works fine for Blogger blogs and self-hosted WordPress  and WordPress.org blogs, but NOT the free WordPress.com version.

Punt When in Doubt

I had to figure SOMETHING out and here’s what I did.

  • I added a new page-see menu above
  • I took a screen shot of my Etsy Shop, then linked the jpg to my shop, but have not figured out how to make it my landing page. When I do, I’ll share it with you.

Now, it’s not perfect and it isn’t animated, won’t rotate, etc. but in a pinch, it works. See for yourself!

EtsyShop

If you have a better idea about how to install your Etsy Mini into your WordPress.com blog, I’m all ears!

Happy Valentine’s Day

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.