Motif Me

Since needing to ‘take 5’ and committing to worthwhile things to do while convalescing, I’ve been busy knitting and crocheting baby beanies. I thought I would share a couple of tutorials–just in case you were thinking about making a few beanies for the Period of Purple Crying Project too. 

1stbeanielighter

“Life is like a box of chocolates, Forest. You never know what you’re gonna git.” (Forest Gump’s Mother)

When I made a post on my personal Facebook page about the decision to make baby hats during my ‘seclusion’, I asked people to join me and happened to mention I was going to need to pick up some green yarn.

My FB friend Kathy posted she would love to join me, but that she was too busy with theatre at the moment. What happened next was “like a box of chocolate.”

In a private message, Kathy asked for my mailing address and said she had green yarn to send me. See what arrived just a few days later? Enough yarn for many hats made with love.

KTS

How Many Hats

Out of the gift, I’ve made about 10 hats thus far in several styles. Isn’t this one just as cute as a button? I think it’s my favorite!

CuteasaButton

Purple and Multi-Color Irish Rose Motif Infant Beanie

My friend, Marla, pointed out that most of the hats were “girly” and asked if I planned to make a few boy-baby hats?

That’s when I remembered that over the summer, Everything Etsy was linking to blog tutorials to a few special projects. I am in hope they consider the one I submit here, plus I thought I’d add to your DIY lessons.

BoyHat

My Crochet Baby Beanie

Chain=ch

Single Crochet-sc

Double Crochet-dc

Half Double Crochet-hdc

Slip stitch-slp st

Basic Circle

Row 1 12″ tail before c 4, then 15 dc into the 4th ch from the hook, slp st to end row

Row 2 Ch 3, 2 dc into each dc for total of 30 dc 

Row 3 Ch 3, 2 dc in next dc, 1 dc in next dc and continue around, slp st into 3 st of c 3

Row 4 Repeat row 2

Rows 5-10 dc into each dc around, slp st to end each round

Row 11 sc into top of each dc, slp st into 1st sc to end round, cut yarn and weave in tail

Turtle Motif

I was looking for animal motifs to crochet to add to the boy baby hats, and came across this Turtle Motif by LittleMargie on Etsy. LittleMargie makes lots of adorable motifs just like the one above and I encourage you to visit her shop. One can actually make any number of animal motifs beginning with crocheting a basic circle.

Turtletight

My Turtle Motif Pattern 

  • Row 1-2 Make a Basic Circle
  • Row 3 slp st into next 3 sts, ch 2
  • Foot *3 hdbl c into same st, slip st into to of next 3 sts
  • Head ch 3, 3 dbl c into same st, slip st into next 3 sts
  • Slip st into next 4 sts and make foot
  • *Slip st into next 3 sts
  • Tail ch 5 slip st into next st
  • *repeat and make foot slp st and fasten off

If you don’t have time or are unable to figure out your own motif patterns, LittleMargie has several adorable ones your could add to the baby beanies you make.

Screen Shot 2013-11-16 at 9.21.47 AM

Enjoy!

One thought on “Motif Me

  1. joining in and knitting these cute little hats helps to raise awareness about the period of purple crying and the shaken baby syndrome. as a parent myself this is such an important topic to educate parents about right from their new babies birth, and it also helps them to understand the normalcy of this type of crying and how to handle the frustration that can accompany it.

Leave a Reply

