Cast in the Play of Life

…Featured in a sideshow!

Screen Shot 2013-03-30 at 11.01.38 AMAccording to Jungian psychology: Guilt is a sideshow put on for oneself.

One thing I know for sure…Life is pretty much an exercise in crisis management. Notice I did not say, “crisis driven” life. No sir!

For me, the last several months have been ‘challenging’ at the very least. There’s my husband’s dementia; my son diagnosed with cancer, the subsequent treatment and hope of full recovery; not to mention the stroke I had last August.

Is it any wonder I have found myself lopsidedly weighted with depression; guilt; sadness; anger; frustration and fear?

However, the only space I’m willing to leave in the margins is a note to myself, “This is just the usual cast of characters in the Play of Life.”

ParisLifted

My normal coping skill of cleaning toilets has spread to cleaning everything that comes across my path. However, I have not been quite as successful with cleaning my mind and mouth!

Screen Shot 2013-03-30 at 10.26.03 AM

Haunted by disappointing behavior, this is a self-help post Stop whining 2012-10-08 at 7.52.53 AM

The Truth

I suffer from being quick tongued; AKA ‘acid tongued’. I should have never discovered Dorothy Parker!

Screen Shot 2013-03-30 at 11.00.05 AM

Helpful

Not everything one thinks then says is particularly constructive–in fact, oft times it is anything but!Screen Shot 2013-03-30 at 11.03.39 AM

Inspiring

Not so much!

Silence is golden

Repeat after me: Silence is golden

Necessary

Stop re-reading

Kind

Kindness 2012-11-01 at 8.45.39 AM

Love Note to Self

Cup o'Kindness 2012-11-03 at 1.49.04 PMCount My Blessings

1. 

I Am Who?

2. Take the Jungian Personality Test. Ahh, so I am an ESFJ person. No wonder I require so much self-examination!

Dare I take the Jungian Marriage Test?

Remedy

3. Nah..I think I’ll go hide our heart and tape several copies of the THINK page around the house!

Easy Love Notes

8 thoughts on “Cast in the Play of Life

  1. It’s think before you speak as a general rule for me too. I mean I have been guilty as heck of saying some pretty dumb or mean things in my life. I am happy you wrote this blog. What I can say after reading it and thinking about your recent life events is that I am certain that those of us who care about you do want you to express yourself and be candid in your writings. We can benefit from what you write even if it is you blurting out a bunch of expletives or saying awful things about God or Country or even us. Don’t be afraid that we won’t understand where you are coming from or fear that we will take something you say out of context and hold it against you. Speak and trust that you will be heard!

Leave a Reply

