Pounds of Prevention Cure

Screen Shot 2013-03-08 at 8.48.49 PMBen and I are cohorts of the philosophy: “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.” 

Prevention Queen

My family would tell you that I am the Prevention Queen. I have a background in preventative dentistry.  I teach injury prevention at a local hospital.

In situations where there was dubious potential for a good outcome, I always told my children, “If I’m wrong about not giving you permission, there’s no potential for a harmful outcome. On the other hand, if you are wrong, there IS potential for a harmful outcome.” They hated me at the time for sticking to that explanation, but what can you expect of a Prevention Queen?

Coping

If you are a regular follower of this blog then you know that my best coping skill is cleaning toilets. Announcement: My second best coping skill is taking preventative action! Therefore, I believe you will not be surprised when I tell you I took preventative action yesterday upon seeing the Costco version of the Unbreakable toilet!

Screen Shot 2013-01-31 at 12.56.04 PM

Upon the discovery, I excitedly sent off a text to the handyman to give him the specs and ask when he could install it. He texted back the height had to at least be 16″ because my husband is tall, and the handyman is aware of my husband’s fainting episodes. I texted the height was 17″. He texted he could be at the house at 9:00 am the next day and I bought the toilet. BTW: I have begun referring to the water closet in our bedroom as ‘MarZ’.

Facelift for Paris from MarZ

'Paris'

At my house we ‘tuck into Paris’ before heading out the door. My granddaughters and I are enchanted by this idea. I just think it sounds so much more elegant than saying, “I’ve got to use the toilet first.” 

It has been five years since creating ‘Paris’, therefore she is in need of a wee facelift. What a perfectlove note’ for Moi! Since the handyman was going to be installing an Unbreakable toilet in ‘MarZ’, and as the toilet in ‘MarZ’ has a brand new tank on it’s back (you know this because I have written about it in Hey! It Beats Hanging the Cat! )

Screen Shot 2013-01-31 at 1.10.13 PM

I decided the prudent-the fiscally responsible-the cleverest use of the ‘MarZ’ toilet was to have it relocated to ‘Paris’.

However, trying to explain the clever plan to the handyman proved somewhat trying! Each time I said I wanted him to “relocate the toilet in MarZ in Paris” he gave me the most peculiar look. 

Finally, I realised to clarify the locations I needed to say, “The toilet in the bedroom water closet needs to be relocated into the powder room” instead of ‘MarZ’ and ‘Paris’. Otherwise, apparently he didn’t know how to get to MarZ and additionally thought I wanted him to take a toilet to Paris, France!

Execution is Key

The key to prevention is execution, and none too soon it turns out. During the relocating installation the handyman discovered a faulty valve leaking in ‘Paris’. OMGosh! Viola! I’m feeling much more clever than ever about the decision to relocate the toilet from ‘MarZ’ to ‘Paris’ and consider it to be brilliant Starshine for my part!

MarZ

I am delighted to report the Unbreakable toilet is providing a sense of comfort to me as I do not need to be ready to flash into action upon hearing the gushing of water should my husband collapse again….

ParisLifted

And, ‘Paris’…. I love ‘Paris’ every moment, every moment of the year!

4 thoughts on “Pounds of Prevention Cure

  1. Pingback: Paris Interrupted | HideaHeart's Blog

Leave a Reply

