R.I.P. Google Reader

Just when I grow proficient with a tool, Google decides to change it! Screen Shot 2013-03-31 at 8.18.30 AM

Heads up!

If you, as I, have been organizing the blogs you read through Google Reader, then you got the notice in Gmail that as of July 1st, Google Reader will no longer be available. Well, March-July…I guess one could consider that a pretty good lead time.

It’s what to do about it that sends me to Mars! I’m beginning to realise Mars is the Permanent Residence for Those who Use Technology.

R.I.P. Google Reader

Lots of people are talking about it. Check out The Island Guy’s post as an example. His slant points out the outrageous way Google Gives, Then Takes Away.

So Be It

I cannot improve on the short and sweet explanation my friend Jennifer  wrote about the demise of Google Reader on her blog  Eightymillion. I encourage you to make good use of Jennifer’s research.

I wasn’t quite sure what remedy to seek, until I read a Facebook request post by Laura of Petscribbles, which then led me to make some changes.

Bloglovin

I chose ‘Bloglovin’. They offer a lot of Follow buttons, and it was easy to migrate all the blogs I now follow and was in risk of losing due to the demise of Google Reader. Go ahead, scroll down the left side of this blog and click it or click Follow my blog with BloglovinScreen Shot 2013-03-31 at 8.50.46 AM

Whatever you decide to do, do it sooner rather than later. Those who wait will be left in Googledust!

8 thoughts on “R.I.P. Google Reader

  1. That seems to be the way it always is! I really don’t like when they change things it takes me forever to learn them!

  2. I never used it…but I agree it is frustrating when you become comfortable with something and it changes

  3. Don’t become entrapped with “right now”. hot topic writing can only last as long as the hot topics do. Many times, that is a very short time period. Try writing content that can be easily read months and years down the road. Even if the content is about a hot topic, Try including something timeless in it.

    • I appreciate your keen insight Marguerite. Occasionally I must re-visit and edit blog posts that are a little too ‘hot topic centric’. I can see that writting more ‘broadly’ about a topic will better stand the test of time. Thank you for taking the time to pass on this ‘timely’ advice.

Leave a Reply

