Kindness Matters

Screen Shot 2012-12-27 at 12.15.54 PM

Fill in the blank keeping in mind the philosophy above. If I could change one thing in my life, I would___________________. 

Can you still make that change? If you think not, visit the Kind Over Matter blog and discover a world of positive possibility.

Screen Shot 2012-12-27 at 2.30.37 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-27 at 2.32.14 PM

Ideas of Substance for Change

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 5.46.17 PM

I have discovered a valuable ‘act of substance’ that has touched my heart and one each of us can celebrate. I am so inspired by the idea that I sent the link to the idea to every one of my friends and asked them to join me.

My friend, Logene responded with, “What a lovely thing to receive from you just a few days before my own birthday – I have done similar things for many years, but not made it a mission, so to speak. Therefore, I am going to think very carefully between now and my birthday, and see what I can do specifically from the reading of this lovely article!” I followed up with her a little later to find out what she decided. Her answer will amaze you.

Since my birthday is in December, I have an entire year to plan the love notes that will give my future birthdays a meaning of substance. I am entitling my acts of substance ‘Grace Notes’ in honor of my mother.

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.07.14 AM

Mother’s 88th Birthday

Will you join me and Charissa and make your birthday count a little differently this year and beyond? 

7 thoughts on “Kindness Matters

  1. My birthday present to myself is to find all the simple goodness I can and spread my joy to others. Therefore, in 2013, I am going to buy a wood burning stove for a family on the Navajo reservation who has no heat in their hogan/home by donating the cash to purchase one to The Southwest Indian Foundation. The Southwest Indian Foundation gets no federal money, nothing of that nature. They depend on donations from people who care. A Catholic priest founded the organization about 40 years ago to help the most desperate of the people, regardless of whether or not they are Catholic. They work with the Navajo and Hopi tribes out of an unpretentious headquarters in Gallup, New Mexico. They operate work training programs in concert with the Air Force Academy where they learn to build decent houses developing skills in carpentry, electrical, plumbing, etc. They have an alcohol and drug abuse program, schools and a place to help teen girls who are expectant mothers. They have a production facility that makes salsas and other Native American type foods and produce a catalog that gives opportunities for Indian artists to sell their works. They operate a shipping facility for getting the products to buyers. This provides desperately needed training, education, and gives people hope. I went to see their historical museum inside the train station in Gallup, across the street from their headquarters, and they obviously are not “living lavishly.” The sincerity is palpable. Deacon Dan Perez headed it for a lot of years and has just retired. I decided I wanted to do something specific in his honor for all the years he stood in lines with waiting people and warmed the children’s hands or traveled miles to deliver a little box of food and a Christmas stocking to a family that would have no special Christmas memory without his loving concern. One of the biggest ongoing needs they have is for people to help them buy these very simple stoves for the ones who live very far out, are usually the elderly, possibly raising grandchildren or great-grandchildren. Many of them cut a barrel in half and just burn wood in the barrel – they have a lot of fires from those hazardous barrels being used as a makeshift stove. It seems to me this gift of a simple stove is the perfect vehicle for me to live up to “find all the simple goodness I can and spread my joy to others.”

Leave a Reply

