Personalized Gift Tags for Christmas

I customized gift tags for Hide A Heart customers who buy one of my little hearts that say a lot. I enjoy being able to offer this special customer service.

For Christmas this year, I decided to create a ‘customized’ gift tag for the gifts I will give to my friends.

I pulled up one of the HAH gift tag templates and decided to use a ‘phototag’ of me having fun for the front side and adding the year to the back side of the tag.

Ah Ha Moment!

But until I decided to create a special ‘gift tag’ for my friends…. it had never dawned on me…..to ‘Personalize’ the Christmas gift tags for family!

Creative Brain Waves

After finishing up the shopping and wrapping the gifts, I sat down at the computer to create a special gift tag for my granddaughters.

At first I was going to insert a photo of Santa or Reindeer or a Christmas Tree, but I wasn’t enthusiastic. Then I realised I had an opportunity to do something really special for this year!  I decided everyone would love getting a gift with a personal photo on the tag and also serve for taking all the doubt out of for whom the gift was intended!

It’s easy!

I use business card stock and a template. If you happen to use a PC, then Microsoft has a great Publisher program you can use to create the tags. I use a MAC so I invested in a copy of Microsoft Office for MAC and found a business tag template I could use. However, Open Office also has a business card template available for free.

It’s fun!

My daughter-in-law is a great photographer and really good about sharing recent photos of the family adventures throughout the year with me. She uses the Picasa Web Album app to send me a photo album. After viewing each one, I take screen shots of my favorites and save them in a ‘family’ file. I also save the Web Albums in an email file just in case I want to revisit the album in the future.

How it’s done!

Select the photo you want and ‘insert’ into the space on the template where you will want it. It will be larger than the template space  and require ‘resizing’ which is easily done by clicking on it then grabbing a corner of the photo and dragging it into a smaller size.

I fold the tags in half, so I use two photos–one on the front and one for the back, but you may only want to use one photo and not fold the tag. I usually write a poem or special note to each family member. If you want to do this too, simply use the same template, remove the photos from the the existing template and re-save with a different name i.e. I used ‘2012 Front tag’ and ‘2012 Mssg. Tag’. 

The really fantastic news is, now that you have made the template, all you will need to do is have a little fun choosing a new photo then save as the tag for the next year!

I can barely wait until Christmas to see their faces when I hand them my gifts from the heart!

11 thoughts on “Personalized Gift Tags for Christmas

  1. Wow, fantastic weblog layout! How long have you ever been running a blog for? you make running a blog look easy. The overall look of your web site is great, as well as the content!

Leave a Reply

