NativeByDesignz

November 3, 2012

I am delighted to introduce Taylor McCoy. Taylor and I met through our Networking Together group on Facebook and have discovered we have a lot in common….We share a Performing Artist background, Handcraft Artisanship and we are both of the ‘chic age’.

Native Indian Inspired Style Jewelry

Taylor, how did you select that name for your product?

Being that I’m of Cherokee Heritage, I wanted to be close to my roots with my artistry and design.

Taylor, I love your logo. How did you choose it?

It wasn’t easy. I went through a lot of photos. I wanted something that was close in resemblance to the essence of the Native Indian woman spirit.  I was lucky to find this beautiful Native Indian Maid in stock photos.

What inspired you to begin designing and creating your products?

I was inspired by my Great Grandmother.  She began teaching me as a small child, the ways of her world. She taught many aspects of respecting the land, how to make medicine from herbs and take only enough to sustain you, to share with other’s when you can and always be kind.  She was an artist of quilting, sewing and making doll clothes.  I remember the doll clothes she made for my dolly, Suzie. She would make the most beautiful items.  She made her own patterns for most of her work.  She was my first real teacher in arts and crafts.

 ART

Tell us what you love best about your art and how it fills your life.

 I was a creative child. Drawing on walls, making designs in the mud and my art improved in school.  I had art once a month, from a traveling art teacher.  She nurtured me all during my grade school years.  When I majored in Art in college, I had the opportunity to thank her publicly at one of my Art Shows in town. That was the highlight for me during that time in my life. I love that arts and crafts aren’t limited. It’s creating from within and being able to express it in a physical form. 

When I’m working in my beads I feel at home.  It’s not how I want them to be, it’s how they come together, at the right time. I know when my work is forced.  I have to redo it a few times to get to the right level of presentation for my expectations. 

Creating for others is a joy for me.  When it comes together, there’s no better feeling than that of a friend or customer who will wear my jewelry and know that not another person has this same piece.  I’ve never been a duplicate person.  With designing Native Indian Inspired Style jewelry, you can only work so many ways.  I strive to work it as far as my imagination will take me and still keep the beautiful spirit of the Native Indian Culture in high respect.  I feel blessed that I can provide this living art to others through my business.

My Cherokee Heritage

And history has a lot to do with my heart’s desire to design. I appreciate their simplicity of making very original jewelry.  My desire is to bring as much natural elements into designing unique pieces.  I also can contribute the other part of my inspiration to my customer’s requesting a certain style that speaks of who they are.

Here’s an example of how I begin with sketching a piece as part of my designing process.

What made you decide to sell your products?

 I have to say, it was my daughter and friends.  I was getting that moral support to push the envelope, as they say, and that is valuable when you venture out into the unknown business world to put your heart out there and into your products.  It only takes one person believing in you to succeed.  The rest is hard work to get there.

What has creating your small business taught you?

Work, work and work.  LOL.  Actually, it taught me that each time I thought I failed; I learned to do it better each time afterwards.  It also taught me that I’m valuable in my business.  I have to believe in what I’m doing.  I have a specialty line of products and to be seen, I have to learn all I can about my craft, my customers’ needs and remain open to future opportunities.

Blogs 

What do your blog(s) offer your followers?

Currently, I have three blogs.  The first one I do for the pleasure of sharing business tips and tricks to help the small business community. 

WordPress NativeByDesignz blog

I’ve blogged about B2B or business 2 business “how to” for about 3 years.  I hope to offer my readers and followers good information that I have researched and or used so that it’s not just an empty suggestion, referral or click to some other place that offers you nothing you can take with you and use as a reliable tool for your business.  I’m a wordy gal when it comes to marketing observation about business on the internet. I do hope you will follow me.  

NativeByDesignz Marketing blog 

 The 2nd Blog, is located on my website. I do a repeat or bring in old blog post that I feel are still valuable in the business community.  I see many are still asking about a marketing tactic and where to find information and I can just pull that up for them via one of the blogs that I have done on the subject.  Sharing is one of the ways we give back to the business community.  Helping my friends, bonus … anytime I can. 

WordPress NativeByDesignz Jewelry Collection blog

My other blog has to do with my jewelry.  I just started this about a month ago.  I really need to kick that up a notch and do more for my journey and journal of creating and design with my jewelry.  What I hope my readers and followers take away is the joy of “one on one” with your creation.  I don’t know about others, but I take time to design and think it through … the process can be slow at times.  I let the beads speak.  As Rome wasn’t built in a day, neither is my jewelry.

What else would you like to share with us?

I have a great daughter that supports me in all that I do.  As crazy as this world is, I can depend on her to tell me like it is.  She’s my inspiration to keep going forward and continue to be the best that I can be in business, personal, and my friendships.

I also do Advertising & Marketing Services that has not only brought me good clients in the past and current, but also good friends.  We all learn along the way, together.  I’ve recently completed my SEO Trainer Course.  This has been very enlightening and I look forward to setting up classes in the future for others that would like to learn more. 

I keep looking for ways to always improve my business and my personal life.  I like to surround myself with positive people and fully give credit for all that I am to our Great Father Spirit.  Without His guidance, I’d be a lost soul on this earth. 

Thank you for today. 

Be Blessed in all you do.

Connect with Native By Designz | Taylor McCoy

On Facebook NativeByDesignz  Pinterest with NativeByDesignz  Find NativeByDesignz on Twitter       

Connect with NativeByDesignz on LinkedIn      Tumble NativeByDesignz Tumblr    and Google+ NativeByDesignz 

We are happy to report that Taylor and her family came through hurricane ‘Sandy’ safe and sound!

19 thoughts on “NativeByDesignz

  1. Taylor is one of my favortie people ever..I bought the prettiest aquamarine necklace from her.she is kind and friendly and just the best…awesome interview..very interesting…great job …

  2. Pingback: NativeByDesignz | Women in Small Business | Scoop.it

  3. I blog often and I seriously appreciate your content. The article has truly peaked my interest. I will bookmark your website and keep checking for new details about once a week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  4. Pingback: NativeByDesignz | Small Business Page | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

