Oscar Swags

March 1, 2012

Introducing :Lori of Charmed Design

I have dreamed of receiving an Oscar since I was a child! Getting into a Oscar Swag would be the next best thing and guess who I know who did? 

I am so excited to spread the news about Charmed Design being included in the Celebrity Swag for the 2012 Oscars!  I know we would love to know how Charmed Design bracelets were selected to be one of the products chosen for the Swags, so I contacted Lori and she has agreed to be interviewed and share her story. It is with great pleasure and admiration that I present Lori Cohn of Charmed Design.

Let’s begin with some Charmed Design history so readers can get to know you, your products and read all about Charmed Design Gleaming in the 2012 Oscar Celebrity Swag!

MCatherine: When did you begin designing jewelry?

Lori: I began designing jewelry as a way to stay positive and constructive while recovering from a life threatening illness. What began as a hobby slowly turned into a career as I discovered a passion for both creating and entrepreneurship.

MCatherine: Can you elaborate on the motivation that inspired you to select Charmed Design as your brand?

Lori: As I mentioned, I started making jewelry while I was very ill. Two years ago, I  woke to find myself in an intensive care unit with absolutely no knowledge of how I got there. I learned that I had become ill from an infection that was a side effect of a routine tooth extraction. I came very close to dying, had several life saving surgeries, and blessed to be here today.

Surviving such a near death experience makes me feel and believe that I am indeed – CHARMED. Hence the name Charmed Design.

MCatherine: I watched the Oscar Swags promotion video that featured products included in the Celebrity Swags and heard that Hollywood Baskets was mentioned as supplying the Charmed Design bracelets with Enya Flack describing that Charmed Design silk ribbon wrap bracelets were “basically jewelry with meaning that reflects positive energy.” Tell us about your designs.

Lori: My jewelry reflects my experience and love for life. I share this by exploring the fascinating world of symbols that have traditionally surrounded and directed humanity. All of my designs have powerful meanings. I use stones and symbolic charms to create wrap bracelets that are as full of spirit as they are beautiful.

MCatherine: Lori, did you have the goal of being part of the Celebrity Swag on the Charmed Design ‘bucket list’?

Lori: Celebrity gifting was not on my ‘bucket list’, but I am so happy that I have been lucky enough to participate in huge events like the Screen Actors Guild Awards and the Oscars. I am currently in the process of creating bracelets to be gifted to several nominees of the Kid’s Choice Awards…including huge names like Taylor Swift, Lady Gaga, and Katy Perry!

MCatherine: Can you tell us what steps Charmed Designs took to catch the attention of Hollywood Baskets?

Lori: I actually answered a query from a HARO.com (Help a Reporter Out) email newsletter looking for items to be included in gift bags to a ‘Red Carpet Event.’ Hollywood Baskets’ owner, Lisa Gal, accepted my jewelry to be included. And I then found out they were going to Screen Actors Guild Awards nominees and presenters staying at the Four Seasons Hotel.

I love HARO! You have reinforced the importance of signing up and submitting appropriate pitches.

MCatherine: How long have you been working with Hollywood Baskets?

Lori: I have worked with Lisa for the Screen Actors Guild Awards, an Oscar gifting suite, and now the Kids Choice Awards.

MCatherine: To be considered for inclusion in the Oscar Swag, did you have to offer Hollywood Baskets Charmed Design bracelets as ‘promo’ pieces?

Lori: Yes, all items included in these types of celebrity gift bags are provided free of charge. I see it as a great investment in marketing and PR.

MCatherine: Once Hollywood Baskets decided to submit Charmed Designs bracelets for inclusion in the Oscar Swags, how many bracelets did you have to make?

Lori: I made 100 bracelets for the Oscar gifting suite.

MCatherine: Did you make ‘one-of-a-kind’ bracelets for the event or randomly select from among the Charmed Design product line?

Lori:  I chose one bracelet from my line that I thought would have mass appeal. This is the bracelet that was gifted:

Believe & Inspire

It’s beautiful! What a wonderful title for that bracelet.

I recently received a reasonably large order for one of my products and a time-line of 10 days for production to delivery.

MCatherine: What was the lead-time given to Charmed Designs to fulfill the Celebrity Swag order?

Lori: I believe I had around a month to prepare, but I was so excited that I finished all 100 within a week!

Adrenalin is a wonderful catalyst! I know you must be dying to find out which Celebrities are wearing Charmed Design bracelets!

MCatherine: Have you thought of how you will find out which Celebrities are wearing Charmed Design bracelets?

Lori: I have absolutely no idea if I will ever know if a certain celebrity wears my bracelet. All I can do is cross my fingers and hope for the best. I have received tweets from actress Carly Craig of Role Models and the upcoming Three Stooges as well as Carolyn Hennesy of Cougar Town that they love and are wearing their bracelets. Here is a list of some of the celebrities that have received one of Charmed Design’s silk wrap bracelets:

Steve Buscemi Josh Charles, Ben Kingsley, Jessica Lange, Glenn Close, Jane Krakowski, Tina Fey, Christine Baranski, Katrina Bowden, Alan Cumming, Drew Barrymore, Giancarlo Esposito, Craig Robinson, Dean Norris, Jean Dujardin, Juliana Margulies, Morgan Freeman, Ryan Seacrest, Channing Tatum, and Rachel McAdams

Here is a part of the list of those that will be receiving a bracelet for the Kid’s Choice Awards: Amy Adams, Kristen Stewart, Sofia Vergara, Emma Watson, Usher, Bruno Mars, Tom Cruise, Justin Bieber, Katy Perry, Jessica Alba, Venus & Serena Williams, Taylor Swift, Selena Gomez, and Lady Gaga.

Due to Charmed Design being a featured product in the Oscar Night Celebrity Swags there is potential to ignite huge business!

MCatherine: How will you prepare to handle the demand?

Lori: From your mouth to God’s ears! I guess I will cross that bridge when I come to it.

MCatherine: What else would you like us to know about Charmed Design?

Lori: My dream is that out of my personal tragedy will grow a successful business because of my passion for creating meaningful jewelry to communicate my personal gratitude and love for life. If I can be ‘charmed,’ so can you!

Your story is inspiring and enriching.  I would love to contact you next year to hear more about the success of Charmed Design! If you aren’t catapulted to Venus by then, are you willing to be interviewed to share your stories?

Lori: I would love to follow up with you next year! Thanks so much for the interview!

In the meanwhile, we will be sure to keep in touch through the Charmed Design Facebook Fan PageHandmadeology and Twitter!

May I add my name to the list of those who send hearty congratulations for a job well done Lori!

Thank you for the opportunity to interview and share the story of Charmed Design. You have made my day brighter. I’m definitely going to have to order one those Charmed Design Tree of Life bracelets on Etsy or the Charmed Design web site! 

One thought on “Oscar Swags

  1. Pingback: D is for Doing « HideaHeart's Blog

Leave a Reply

