Defying Gravity

I have retired the slogan ‘Working Like a Woman with Hair on Fire.’ I plan on defying gravity and to carry me to my destiny embracing the words of Carl Jung: “The dream drives the action.”

Let Me Entertain You! Defying Gravity!

When I faced head and neck cancer treatment options I used the word ‘wicked’ to describe my choices. It took some weeks of journaling before I realised I needed to learn a little something about the POWER of WORDS. I’m not sure how it happened. I thought the lessons were permanent like the tattoos the doctor made on my chin and neck for aligning the field of radiation, but ‘lessons’ are NOT vaccinations that inoculate against relapse and it would seem the longer I am past treatment, the more I have let go of ‘lessons’.

Lessons

It turns out to be a wee bit difficult to KNOW which things to hold on to and which things are best let go.

While it is important to ‘let go’ of some useless things like:

  • feelings of distrust in one’s body
  • a sense of wounding that cannot be healed
  • fixating on loss

Yet, absolutely necessary to ‘hold on’ to wisdom lessons like:

  • It’s not about living long, but living well
  • Make a plan-of-the-day
  • This moment is the one that counts
  • Realising some people’s best is better than others

I am again reminded it is tricky to suss out that wisdom part!

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to
change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference” Reinhold Niebuhr

Review

Now I see that I have been suffering a lapse of memory when choosing to describe myself as ‘working like a woman with hair on fire’!  I defaulted to the place of ‘powered by’ when I chose the ‘hair on fire’ visual, which is much more out side my control and not at all preferable when it is EMPOWERMENT I am seeking.

Thankfully, last week I experienced a paradigm shift! It turns out that I have pursued a vision that actually held me in some jeopardy. You see, a woman with hair on fire is not the POSITIVE vision I seek…so, let me introduce you to my new VISION! Dream2DriveAction! (D2DA)

Something has changed within me
Something is not the same
I’m through with playing by
The rules of someone else’s game
Too late for second-guessing
Too late to go back to sleep
It’s time to trust my instincts
Close my eyes
And leap…
It’s time to try defying gravity
I think I’ll try defying gravity
And you can’t pull me down!
Unlimited! Together we’re Unlimited!
Together we’ll be the greatest team there’s ever been!
Dreams the way we planned them, if we work in tandem!

The lyrics for WICKED written by Steven Schwartz

How are YOU envisioning success?

8 thoughts on “Defying Gravity

  1. Wicked was an awesome stage show, and I still listen to the music, this song being one of my favs.

    I am envisioning success as a roomful of babies – newborns, crawling toddling – babies being symbols, in dreams, of new projects & ideas.

  2. Lady, I am envisioning success laying on the beach on the Amalfi Coast, drinking Chianti and feasting on sun ripened tomatoes drizzled with olive oil! 🙂

  3. This is a lovely, insightful post Ms. MCatherine. I enjoyed reading it this morning. I was especially struck by the reminder about not “fixating on loss” because I have a tendency to do just that.

    I’m going to think about how I envision success in the future. Blessings and light on your continuing healing journey xxx

    • Anna Grace, Thank you for visiting the HAH blog and leaving your thoughtful comment. I am so glad that the you found the ‘reminder’ useful. Hugs Galore! MCatherine

Leave a Reply

