Adding a Pinterest Button

My mother always told me, “persistence pays off!” and I must admit, I Gotta Crow! Want to learn how to put a Pinterest button on your blog? Keep reading ’cause you are about to find out a very simple way that DOES NOT require HTML code!

Let Me Entertain You!

I Gotta Crow!   (The link will take you to the YouTube video, then click back to the blog page)

If you have been trying to get a Pinterest button on a Blogger blog that takes a reader to your Pinterest page,  here’s a simple how-2-do-it that does NOT require HTML code!

I was reading some of the blogs of my SheWrites friends and noticed Leah Singer had a ‘Pinterest’ button on her blog, so I sent her a inquiry about how she’d done it and she quickly responded and provided a jpg of the logo. I also snipped the logo on EverythingEtsy, made a jpg of it to give you two choices of buttons, or you might have other ideas for grabbing a Pinterest logo of choice.

Making a NO HTML Pinterest Button

  1. Save one of the jpgs in one of your Picture files—I have one titled Blog Pics
  2. Go to YOUR Pinterest ‘pin’ page and copy the url address from your browser
  3. Sign into your Blogger blog and open your Dashboard
  4. Open ‘DESIGN’
  5. Click ‘Add a Gadget’
  6. Scroll down to find and select ‘Picture’
  7. Paste the url to your Pinterest ‘pins’ page in the link space
  8. Open the jpg file with the Pinterest logo and select it and click ‘Open’–you will be able to see the picture right away if you have done this step correctly
  9. Save and then go look at your blog to see how it looks

Now go ahead and click the new Pinterest button to see if it takes you to your Pinterest page. If I’ve explained things well, you should be as successful as I was today! Crow! Crow! Crow!

27 thoughts on “Adding a Pinterest Button

  1. MCatherine, thank you for sharing! Following your tutorial, I’ve added my Pinterest “Come pin with me!” widget! How cool is that! Thank you! 🙂

    • Hi Amanda,
      Good Question! If you ‘drag’ to your browser bar a ‘pinterest’ icon, you can ‘pin’ a post to your pin page. However, having said that, I have found it only works on a Blogger blog and not WordPress for individual posts. I can post the wordpress blog site, but not an individual post. If WordPress adds a ‘Pinterest’ app, I’ll be sure to let you know.
      MCatherine

  2. Thank you so much I just did it! It totally worked and I have tried stuff like this before with no luck. Thanks again.
    Natasha

  3. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I have been trying to add the Pinterest logo off and on for weeks. I could get the link, but not the logo. You made it extremely easy by providing the file for the logo right on your post. I’m delighted!

  4. Pingback: Pinning Help | HideaHeart's Blog

Leave a Reply

