A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes

Happiness is your granddaughter’s pronouncement, “When I grow up, I’m going to work for Hide A Heart!” I LOVE the enthusiasm and absolute belief in miracles of six and four year-old’s!Easy Love Notes

LET ME ENTERTAIN YOU!

I’m Flying!

When we picked the children up the first thing out of their mouths was, “What kind of Tea are we going to have GG?” “Hmm, I had not thought of Tea during the summer. What kind of Tea would you like?” To which they answered in unison, “Peter Pan!”

So for all grandparents and members of  Handmadeology, EverythingEtsy and Etsysians everywhere who may be seeking an idea for entertaining daughters, sons, granddaughters or grandsons, I offer a simple tutorial.

The six-year old is a particularly gifted artist, so I asked if she could draw something for the Peter Pan Tea that she and her sister could color. Keep in mind she did NOT have a picture to copy or for inspiration, so the black-n-white drawing you see is completely from her memory.

After scanning the original and I made copies for each girl to color, then scanned the colored copies and reduced them to accommodate a ‘tag’ size. While Grandpa entertained the girls at the park for an hour or so, I began the delightful activity of gathering up things to wrap for the ‘Treasure Hunt.’ I love Papyrus cards and always save the little cello wrap pockets to recycle for packaging or other uses. Into several of the cellos I tucked a few ‘Tea Accoutrements’ then affixed a Tinkerbell tag. The tags served as the ‘clues’ to the ‘Booty’! I have a Tea Room in my home where I could ‘visibly’ hide the treasure but keep it ‘out of sight’ until ready for the hunt!

I recently purchased a few Demarle products, one being a gingerbread boy tray.  When the girls returned from the park, it was time to help mix the cookie dough and fill the tray mold, then watch the cookies bake until the elder decided they could go play for a while since it was taking a little bit “too long!” Once the shortbread cookies cooled, the girls ‘decorated’ them with green icing and sprinkles. Of course a little ‘test tasting’ is allowed.

TeaRuby ‘Tea with Ruby’ is a perfect little book for teaching children manners when attending a Tea Party. I always include in my invitation to the girls to attend wearing proper attire, bringing best manners and inside voices.

Then it was off to wash hands and faces in ‘Paris’ and prepare for the Treasure Hunt! Being a stickler for total ‘discovery’ and to make sure nothing was left hidden, my six-year old granddaughter decided a ‘Booty’ list to ‘scratch off’ was necessary to keep track of the found ‘treasures’.

As a guide, I set up my place at the table so the girls could see how to set their own places with all the ‘Discovered Booty’! I filled the Tea Pot with ‘green milk’ and we all sat down to enjoy our Peter Pan Tea! I am constantly amazed at how the simple, civilized and elegant experience of ‘having tea’ also encourages the practice of the very best of manners….a practice one must always bring to Tea.

When we had enjoyed an ‘adequate sufficiency’ of Peter Pan Cookies and Green Milk, I asked the girls what kind of Tea we should have for their next visit and both unanimously agreed, “Cinderella!”

It so happens that Cinderella was one of my favorite stories and Disney movies growing up. In fact I have a ‘Cinderella’ musical clock my father gave me in remembrance of an incident he has never forgotten.

My father came home from WWII when I was 3 years old. One day my parents took me with them to look for a house to buy and they came to a neighborhood called ‘Story Book Lane’ in which was built ‘Cinderella’s House’. They made the mistake of mentioning the name of the house because when it came time to leave I threw myself onto the ground crying, “I want to live in Cinderella’s House!” until my father picked me up and virtually threw me into the back seat of the car. I cried all the way home, sobbing about how I wanted, “live in Cinderella’s House!” My father was totally baffled and at one point asked my mother, “What’s wrong with her?” to which my mother calmly replied, “She wants to live in Cinderella’s House.”

9 thoughts on “A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes

  1. You seem like the ultimate grandmother! I can’t believe those drawings! I don’t even know if I could do that today or even color in the lines. Very talented children and cute as can be. Oh, and I think I have seen every rendition (original and remakes) of Cinderella and then I subjected to my vast collection. I am inching up on being a grandmother and will keep these wonderful ideas in mind!

  2. What a beautiful story and how fun to share it with you.
    Can’t wait to try some of your ideas on our friends little grandchildren.
    What a special time it is and how exciting to teach our little ones such an easy way of manners.
    Thank you! Thank you!
    Jani B.

Leave a Reply

