A Practicing Angel’s Simple Act of Gratitude

I have always appreciated receiving a Thank You note and I enjoy writing one. I think sending Thank You notes has become a rather under-rated practice that was once highly respected, expected and extravagantly invested.

Many years ago I recall attending a Portland Art Museum show with examples of thoughtful and beautifully accented and designed Thank You notes. Notes decorated with sea shells and feathers; jewels and beads; eloquently worded and handwritten in beautiful script.

When I hand write a Thank You note, I feel as if the ‘spirit of my gratitude’ flows through the pen on to the paper. I feel the same way about writing poetry or music, which is why I can NEVER get rid of small scraps of paper upon which ‘first inspiration’ has been jotted.

While in Barnes and Noble yesterday I came across the small book titled 365 Thank Yous: The Year a Simple Act of Gratitude Changed My Life by John Kralik. I heard an interview with John a few weeks back and I was intrigued by his motivation to send the notes and then write a book about it.

Seventeen years ago I was diagnosed with head and neck cancer. Facing the fact one has cancer requires huge courage, treatment can often times seem more harsh than the disease, but of course, that would be a ‘misleading misconception’.

I didn’t want treatment because then I believed I was being forced to choose between saving my life and losing my life–my singing voice.

One of the ‘in your face’ kinds of lessons having had cancer has taught me is that ‘time’ is precious stuff and ‘making the most of the precious time’ one might be lucky enough to ‘buy’ with treatment would be a gift wasted!

If you have ever ‘followed’ her, then you know about the Angel Network and while I did not ‘hand write’ it, the note I sent is filled with deep appreciation–today I decided it was time to send a Thank You to a person who is wrapping up her well-known and highly popular television show–OPRAH!

I don’t know Oprah. I have never had the good fortune of attending her show. Oprah does not know about me or her influence on me but she deserves to know because she has performed a good deed and good deeds deserve to be recognized. Oprah helped me recognize how I could create my ‘Angel Practice’.

I believe in Angels on Earth and I have always done my best to be a ‘practicing Angel’. The really ‘public’ manifestation of my ‘Angel Practice’ ala Oprah is that after recovering from head/neck cancer, I decided people deserved a ‘purple heart’ for facing cancer and treatment. So much did I believe this, that when I created Hide A Heart http://hideaheart.etsy.com I included purple hearts for Hope and Healing to represent  my GIGANTIC Thank You note to share with all who may deserve to receive one.

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Practicing Angel’s Simple Act of Gratitude

  1. Your blog is always an inspiration to me. You turned a tragic illness into something positive and life affirming and I appreciate that.
    I was raised to always send personal “thank you” notes for gifts, etc. – sometimes when I really didn’t want to take the time to do it. It seems to be becoming a “lost art” along with handwritten letters. E-mail and pre-printed cards now correspond for us and I am guilty of using both. I always love getting a handwritten thank you note and I am going to make more of an effort to let people know how much I appreciate them. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Beautifully written.
    My mother died of breast cancer in 2007.She had a beautiful singing voice,it was her passion.She sang in church quite often.
    When she died, we wanted to find a recording of her singing,she had some from earlier years but we could never find them,If we had them,I am sure we would listen to them everyday.
    Do you make pink hearts?

    • Hi Stephanie,

      Thank you very much for leaving your comments. I send you my deepest condolences for the loss of your mother and that you are unable to find a recording of her singing. Would the recording of her have been made through a major or minor recording studio or by a friend or family member with a reel-to-reel or cassette tape recorder?
      I am sorry, I have no pink hearts presently, but I do offer a purple heart with a pink ribbon. If you would like to see it, please visit http://hideaheart.etsy.com or this link: http://www.etsy.com/listing/58185333/purple-glass-heart-with-pink-ribbon
      I want to thank you for the gift of following Life on Mars–HideaHeart Begins.
      MCatherine

Leave a Reply

