Handmade Spark Ignites

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 8.49.05 AM

Re-release APB: Unfortunately Handmade Spark relieved me of my writing duties when taken over by other folks than Amber and Lauren. I was also informed my mini-site would be discontinued at the end of 2011, but this article still has value.

You may already know that I have been a ‘guest’ contributor for MommytheMarketer’s ‘flightpathstudio’ and plan to continue to contribute guest articles to Handmade Spark where you can find the most wonderful guidance, information and tutorials for the handmade small business artist and owner.

I also signed up for the Handmade Spark daily fuse that alerts me to new posts and articles, making it very easy to click and go directly to a post of interest. Today I found a post entitled: YOUR BLOG FEATURED ON OUR FRONT PAGE and as you know I am ALWAYS looking for ways to promote HIDE A HEART through networking.

I quickly clicked on the article and found a couple of important questions. 1. Do you have your blog linked to the HANDMADE SPARK Mini-Site? 2. Is your blog active? Well, I could certainly affirm that the HIDE A HEART blog is active, but the Mini-Site question was left wanting.

FYI: If you have not already, be sure to visit HANDMADE SPARK and build your Mini-Site ASAP. And once you have it built, be sure to COPY the url for the Mini-Site, something I forgot to do and that leads me to this tip:

So how does one connect the Mini-Site?

If you want to connect the HANDMADE SPARK Mini-Site to your blog and your blog is through WordPress.com you will want to do the following:

  1. Sign in
  2. Click ‘Appearance’
  3. Click ‘Widget’
  4. Go to ‘TEXT’ and click ‘ADD’
  5. Title it HANDMADE SPARK MINI-SITE
  6. Add the url….but here’s where it gets tricky…the URL has to be written in HTML and here’s what the HTML looks like for HIDE A HEART

<a href=” http://www.handmadespark.com/myspark/HideaHeart/33435066/romantic-red-glass-heart-wedding-bridal-honeymoon-romantic-game-love-letter-surprise-romantic-keepsake-wedding-toast-token-glass-hearts-by-hideaheart-on-etsy /?ref=ts”>HERE</a>

Believe me, I have a word doc. with all HTML code saved for everything requiring HTML so I don’t have to keep remembering HOW to write it and I just thought of something. I’m going to send that document via email attachment and SAVE it in a folder…just in case the word doc should somehow be lost….don’t EVEN think about that!!!

4 thoughts on “Handmade Spark Ignites

    • Hi Jennifer…the HTML should work with blogger.com by selecting the HTML gadget and then adding the HTML with the Title at the top. Let me know if you are unsuccessful and I’ll see what I can do to help.

  1. Pingback: Life on Mars–HideaHeart Begins 2010 in review earned a WOW! « HideaHeart's Blog

Leave a Reply

